FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF NEW YORK

Circular No. **10502** December 20, 1991

Election and Appointment of Directors of this Bank

To the Member Banks of the Second Federal Reserve District:

THOMAS G. LABRECQUE, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Chase Manhattan Bank (National Association), New York, N.Y., has been elected by member banks in Group 1 as a Class A director of this Bank for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1992. He succeeds John F. McGillicuddy, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Manufacturers Hanover Trust Company, New York, N.Y., who has served as a Class A director since February 1988.

ELLEN V. FUTTER has been designated Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent for the year 1992 by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Ms. Futter, who is President of Barnard College, New York, N.Y., has been serving as a Class C director since January 1988, and as Deputy Chairman since September 1988. As Chairman and Federal Reserve Agent, she succeeds Cyrus R. Vance, presiding partner of the New York law firm of Simpson Thacher & Bartlett, who has been serving as a Class C director, and as Chairman and Federal Reserve Agent, since January 1989. Mr. Vance, whose term as Class C director expires December 31, 1992, will continue to serve in that capacity.

MAURICE R. GREENBERG has been reappointed a Class C director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1992 by the Board of Governors. The Board has also appointed him Deputy Chairman for the year 1992. Mr. Greenberg, who is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of American International Group, Inc., New York, N.Y., has been serving as a Class C director since June 1988.

E. GERALD CORRIGAN,

President.